3 Facts to Know about Car Accident Insurance in Minnesota
Have you been in a car accident in Minnesota? If so, you may have questions about Minnesota car accident insurance.
Being involved in a car crash is traumatic – both for those at fault and for the victims. It can also cost thousands of dollars in medical bills, and result in legal problems. For the best possible outcome, you may need the knowledge and experience of a lawyer who understands car accident insurance in Minnesota.
3 Things You Need to Know about Car Accident Insurance in Minnesota
1. Car insurance is required in Minnesota
The State of Minnesota requires all vehicles to have the following coverage:
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) – covers basic economic losses, such as medical costs, funeral expenses, lost wages, and replacements; Minnesota requires a minimum coverage of $40,000 per person, per accident
Liability – helps cover property damage and injury expenses when you are at fault; the state requires a minimum coverage of $30,000 for injuries to one person, $60,000 to compensate for injuries to 2 or more people, and $10,000 for damage to another vehicle or property
Uninsured – covers medical bills after you have exhausted your PIP coverage after an accident with an uninsured driver who has been named responsible for the crash; Minnesota requires a minimum of $25,000 to compensate for injuries to one person and $50,000 for 2 or more people
Underinsured – helps pay for medical claims for people named in your policy and on top of your PIP benefits that are used when the other driver is responsible for the accident but does not carry enough liability insurance to cover the medical claims; the state requires a minimum of $25,000 to cover the costs of injuries to one person and $50,000 to compensate for the injuries to 2 or more people
2. Minnesota is a “no-fault” car insurance state
There are two main types of car insurance coverage after an accident: at-fault and no-fault. Some states, including Minnesota, are “no-fault states.” After an accident in an at-fault state, victims must pursue compensation for their injuries from the driver who caused the auto accident. Following a car crash in a no-fault state, your insurance will pay for your damages no matter who was at fault. No-fault insurance covers only the costs of injuries sustained in a car crash – it does not cover property damage.
3. Car accident insurance is a lifeline
Having insurance can protect you and your family from the financial costs of a car crash. Depending on the policy you choose, insurance can help you cover the cost of repairs, medical bills, and other expenses that you would otherwise have to pay out of your own pocket.
NGSW&B is the Experienced Law Firm You Need After a Car Accident in Minnesota
If you have been in an accident, contact a personal injury lawyer quickly. Our team of experienced attorneys can help you navigate Minnesota’s insurance laws for the best possible outcome. Contact us as soon as possible to find out how we can help.